Primal Eating

I’ve been doing a lot of reading and research on the primal/paleo eating lifestyle and that is something that I am working towards. Most importantly, I am trying to cut out any wheat/gluten, sugar, and processed foods, but it is a battle. The hardest part for me is moving away from my morning espresso laced with sugary syrup. One of my other battles is that cooking, in general, has not been one of my strong suits. I can rock at baking cookies, but cooking real foods is something that I have to work at and improve upon.

So far, I’ve been dabbling. Figuring out some healthy meals and ways to prepare real foods that we enjoy, mixed with crappy poisonous fast foods when I don’t feel like cooking. So its all a work in progress. And my goal is to keep progressing with it and improving my cooking skills.

Right now, I am in the middle of reading The Primal Blueprint by Mark Sisson. It is a great book. I love the in-depth explanations of how our body processes wheat and sugar, what that does to our insulin levels and how the changes in insulin levels affect our body. It also gives a great explanation of how cholesterol works. I have a number of other books on my list of books to read that will hopefully continue to give me motivation to improve my way of eating and living, and make the necessary changes to improve my health and life.

2 thoughts on “Primal Eating

  1. Hang in there! Read loads and do it bit by bit if you can’t “eat the whole elephant at once”. On the other hand do it for 30 days, see how you feel. You can ALWAYS go back to eating the way you used to. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

