Plant Experimentation: Voodoo Lily, Day 12.

The 5 amorphophallus bulbifer seeds I had placed directly into moist vermiculite and placed in a ziploc bag have started to sprout. I’ve been checking them every couple of days. Typically not much to look at. Just vermiculite sitting in a moist baggy. But today! Oh, today was different! It was amazing! I went to check on the bag, expecting nothing new, and lo and behold! There were growths pushing through the medium! I was not expecting that at all!

Amorphophallus Bulbifer sprouts

Now I am undecided as to what to do, and researching the internet for advice. I am not sure I should leave all five of these in one pot for long. Plus, I used straight vermiculite for my medium, so there really is not much in the way of nutrition here. I am thinking I should move them to individual 4 inch pots so they are not fighting for room. Those that are sprouted, I may be able to leave uncovered, and just make sure I keep them moist. Those that haven’t sprouted, I should probably keep the pots in ziploc baggies. What to do, what to do. What if it is too soon to be repotting them? What if I completely disrupt their growth cycle by moving them too soon? I am just so unsure as to what the best approach is. Trial and error, I guess it shall be. =)

Leave a Reply

