Plant Experimentation: Dwarf Pomegranate (Punica Granatum Nana), Day 1.

I had ordered a variety of seeds from a couple different places, things that looked interesting. Seeds in general are pretty cheap, so it lends to a variety of experiments. The good thing is you can get a pretty good number of seeds for a low price. The down side is that if all those seeds germinate, you may end up running out of real estate. Though I figure I can always give them away fro free. =)

First experiment is a dwarf pomegranate – punica granatum nana.

Dwarf Pomegranate Seed Packet - Punica Granatum Nana

The seeds are smaller than I expected, and kind of a whitish, creamish color.

Dwarf Pomegranate Seeds

The packet came with 25 (actually 27) seeds, so I figured I could try a variety of germination techniques, as I have read online that people have had success with different methods. The first method I decided to try is putting 5 seeds in moist vermiculite in a ziploc bag, which will be kept on the table at room temperature.

5 Pomegranate Seeds in Room Temperature, Moist Vermiculite

The second technique I am trying is putting 5 seeds in moist vermiculite in a ziploc bag, which will be kept in the vegetable drawer of my refrigerator, which is kept at 36 degrees F. They will be kept in the fridge for 4-6 weeks.

5 Pomegranate Seeds in Moist Vermiculite in 36 degree F refrigerator

For the third and fourth techniques, I will repeat the first and second techniques, except prior to, they are being soaked for 24 hours in warm water.

10 Pomegranate Seeds Soaking in Warm Water for 24 hours

After they finish soaking, 5 seeds will go into a ziploc bag of moist vermiculite to remain at room temperature.

Bag for Soaked Pom Seeds at Room Temperature

The other 5 seeds will go into a ziploc bag of moist vermiculite to be kept in the refrigerator at 36 degrees F.

Bag for Soaked Pom Seeds to go in refrigerator

This leaves me with 7 seeds, which I will most likely sow into a seed flat, along with a number of other seeds. Hopefully I will have success with at least one of these methods.

Leave a Reply

