Plant Experimentation: Amaryllis, Day Unknown.

At Christmas, my husband’s grandmother gave us an amaryllis bulb in a planter gift package. It was one of those put-together-yourself things, which we completely forgot about. The package ended up sitting in our cold laundry room for a couple months. One day, we had noticed there was little leaves starting to push their way out of the packaging. It had decided it was ready to go.

At that point, my hubby put it all together and this is what we ended up with:

Amaryllis on March 10th, 2011.

We left it on the porch to allow the flowers and foliage to die back before cutting off and planting in the ground. However, we forgot about that too. Yep, we are on top things! The top of the bulb started looking crinkly and dried out. However, this last week or so, new leaves are starting to push their way out:

Amaryllis on May 15th, 2011.

For now, I plan to leave it as is and see how much the leaves continue to grow. I hadn’t watered it in a while, so I went ahead and watered well and moved it back up into a spot where it gets a large amount of sun on the porch. Once these leaves die off, I will figure out what I need to do with the bulb for the winter. I am hoping, since it is southern California, that I can get away with just leaving it outside in a planter and have it rebloom next year. I figure I might have to cover it with something to protect it if it gets too cold, since it won’t be in the ground.

Leave a Reply

