Plant Experimentation: Fig Tree Pup, Day 1.

image

When we first moved into our house, there was a fig tree growing up along the fence line. One of the first things we did was cut it to the roots, because I get severe migraines, and figs are a huge trigger.

However, the roots are under the chain link fence, and it will be difficult, if not impossible, to dig them out. Since then, I’ve noticed lots of little leaves growing around the base, which I assume are little suckers growing off the roots.

Since I’m in plant mode, I decided I would dig around the base and see what was going on. The whole thing sits at a bit of an angle, so it was a little awkward. I managed to separate three pieces out, two of which had at least one root.

I planted these in a pot with potting soil. We shall see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

